You say synchronous, I say . . .

I recently attended a TCC (Technology, Colleges and Community) Conference session, Open Content for Online Faculty Development, which provided attendees an overview of professional development courses offered by Colorado Community Colleges Online. 

Upon reviewing my notes, I realized the presenter managed to do more than walk us through links on the CCCO’s wiki, which, for some reason is what I seem to remember the most. In fact, the Q&A part of the session yielded a fair amount of information. I was impressed enough to visit the wiki and feel certain that I will use it for my own development.

Elluminate was an excellent choice for the presentation. Downloading it was easy and quick, with only one minor Windows-related issue that was very easy to resolve. Elluminate is intuitive and easy to use. The interactive features – chat box, raising hands, and smiley face, for example, proved to be an asset, not a distraction. And, I like the fact that presentations can be recorded.

I think Elluminate holds possibilities for working with tech savvy students to create and present content for a mini-conference of their own. With steady training throughout a course, students could be prepared to present papers or group projects. What a great opportunity for upper-level undergraduates or grad students. Of course, free access to attend a conference would be a great benefit, too. I suppose the most practical, by which I mean free or inexpensive use, however, is for officer hours. 

I would like to have attended another session, but, it was a long week and just didn’t happen.  I plan to access the recorded sessions as time permits.

